Minifie van Schaik Architects
MvS Architects
MvS Architects is a globally recognised, award-winning and widely published architectural practice based in Melbourne in its 20th year of practice.

We undertake a variety of project types, and have expertise in delivering public buildings up to $40m, and master-plans for projects over $100m in value. Recent projects have included large scale adaptive re-use projects, projects with social and economic development through cultural heritage strategy, and buildings with extensive interpretive content with environmental and ecological themes. Our buildings have been constructed in sensitive locations, have significant landscape components and have incorporated the highest level of sustainable design practice.

MvS Architects approach each project as a unique set of problems and opportunities requiring a tailored and innovative approach. We work closely with our clients and consultants to find processes and solutions that are not always obvious. The MvS Architects' design methodology emphasises both extensive research and engagement with all project stakeholders. Our designs consistently surprise and delight both our clients and their constituents.

MvS Architects has received awards from the Australian Institute of Architects for the Victorian College of the Arts Centre for Ideas, Southbank in 2004, the Australian Wildlife Health Centre, Healesville Sanctuary in 2006, Wattle Avenue House, Mildura in 2012, Edithvale Seaford Wetlands Discovery Centre, Edithvale in 2012, and RMIT New Academic Street in 2018.

In 2015 the St Arnaud Street Museum, which we developed with Maudie Palmer AO, received a commendation for Community Engagement in the National Local Government awards and in the same year our project for the Alice Smith School, in conjunction with iPartnership.LCW, was awarded the PAM Category 13 Gold award for collaboration.

In 2018 RMIT New Academic Street (designed in conjunction with Lyons, NMBW, HAW, Peter Maddison and TCL) was awarded in the AIA Victoria architecture awards for: the Melbourne Prize; the Victorian Architecture Medal; the Henry Bastow Award for Educational Architecture; the Joseph Reed Award for Urban Design; the Award for Interior Architecture; and the Award for Sustainable Architecture.